Manly feelings

Tim Ballard is to me the definition of a good man. Listen to this podcast. Take an hour or so out of your day and soak in these stories. I don’t even know what it did for me. 

https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/team-never-quit-podcast/id1119435387?mt=2&i=1000382942326

If you have NEVER heard of this podcast, all you need to know is that it is hosted by.

  • Marcus Luttrell: (who is the man portrayed in Lone Survivor) and 
  • David “Rut” Rutherford: (Marcus’s buds instructor and fellow navy seal) 

Both have had very successful careers as Navy SEAL’s. 
I listen to a ton of podcasts, it’s a way for me to stay educated and challenge my brain to learn in a different way. I strictly listen in my car while commuting. This engages my intellectual side when other wise the time would be wasted. 

When I started this particular podcast I thought I was prepared to learn about the world of child trafficking, I wasn’t even close. I literally felt my anger rise, I grieved, and I felt sorrow.  All of this was just from Tim Ballard telling the stories of what he does day to day. 
That brings me to why I posted this. It has become well known that men more often than not bury their feelings. I think this started being identified by the public as a problem, in the late 1990’s early 2000’s. This rhetoric has brought -about a “social norm” where it is okay for men to be emotional. I see the “Millennial Men” being more and more emotionally open. 

I see pluses and negatives to this. (I’m not bashing millennials just framing an age group) (I’m in that age group)
What do the men of this group feel about being emotionally transparent?

  • Is there a time and a place? 
  • Certain people? 
  • How do you manage your emotions?

 I personally have a tough time managing myself when I’m in an angry state. For example. 

If you read this far I am very interested in your opinion!

Published by

N. Moog

Non-porfessional blogger. Lover of information. Good at a lot of things, master of none.

Leave a Reply

